I’LL WRITE YOU A PRESCRIPTION, I’LL WRITE IT WITH HONEY AND BLOOD

PRESCRIPTION

 

I’ll write you a prescription;

I’ll write it with honey and blood;

With scraps of newspapers, spring                       waters

Evergreen berries and mud.

With stars that shine so brightly

On the brilliant axel tree,

Tree on which the world turns,

Leaving you and me to stare

Across the waters by the moon.

*

 To wonder about the promises

We made, or why the time came

So late or so soon.

And wonder where the

Many-coloured river of lights leads us,

Day to day. And why it didn’t turn out

Another way.

*

We are here now with the lights flashing

And the silence of the sea, ships’                           passing.

Go ahead, laugh! the wild gull of                          freedom

Waits, and screams his half-mad

Wisdom scream.

*

And what do I have but words

To reach you across the distances?

I have my kiss,

I have a flood of freshwater tears.

All the stories have been told.

I will not tell you a story.

*

I will mix you a melody, with a

Thousand ingredients. A melody

Is where it is, it never leads somewhere.

It is either enough or it is nothing.

A melody, it is the stuff of paradise

And dreams; it is the stuff of an empty,

Filthy alley, with cyanide queens

And the growl of hyenas.

*

The glowing panther eyes become

The flowing semen of the mainstream.

With its eternal ways and means,

Mainstreet. The monkeys laugh!

The impotent bones crack.

All that was proud pounds between

The sidewalk cracks. The wind hits

Like a hammer, the last of winter

Blows.

I wait now now while the spring melts

Into the morningglow.

*

And I write you this prescription

From my heart and soul. God knows

It might be all I can give to you that

Grows.

*

I wait here in the wildwind and the

Alleyfilth, while the rats bloat,

While the whirlwind turns a

Galaxy of worlds. While the gull

Flies through a new dawn,

And I discard my old clothes.

I wait while the old winter dies

And spring blows.

* * * * * * *

(C)1979-2018 W.G.Milne

One thought on “I’LL WRITE YOU A PRESCRIPTION, I’LL WRITE IT WITH HONEY AND BLOOD

Leave a comment